La Rentrée Quickly Approaching!

image

La Rentree, the “re-entry” into life commences every September.  As vacations wind down, work projects amp up and school starts again, life goes from the lazy days of summer to the more organized, scheduled time of fall.  It’s my favorite time of the year.  It’s a renewal, a rebirth.  It’s New Years and its resolutions without all of the pressure.

Each year I make my “la rentree” gameplan for work and home.  I write out my goals, create a master to-do list, break that down into more mangeable and less intimidating chunks (can you tell I’m slightly OCD?   Ok, maybe a little more than slightly.)  🙂

I am usually very excited about la rentree.  But not this year and I’m attributing it to the fact that I don’t feel like I’ve really had that relaxing summer experience.

It starts with the fact that my kids are on a year-round schedule at school.  So our summer vacation doesn’t start until the third week of July, so right there I’m four weeks behind.

Sure I started the summer vacation with with a four day trip to Las Vegas, but immediately upon return (an hour after I got home actually!), I was thrust into a huge work project.  And it seems like it’s been one large, time-consuming project after another, all summer long.

Our pool has only been used a handful of times.  My unread magazine pile actually has issues in it from as far back as April!  I have no tan what-so-ever and I’m even writing this article from indoors.  I am definitely feeling the stress of it all and a sadness.  As if I might actually miss my chance to enjoy a carefree summer experience this year.

But all is not lost!  I am an optimist after all!  I have one week left before September starts!  And I’m going to stuff all of summer into it!  I have a weekend full of social engagements and I fully intend to relax and enjoy them!  Next week I only have two short work meetings (both early morning) and I am not going to schedule any more!  That’s what the first week of September is for.  I’m not going to give myself a guilt trip about “where I could be” in my business if I work next week.  I’m going to do the bare bones of housecleaning all week (actually, starting NOW!).  These are all things that will still be there in September.  But my carefree summer won’t be.

I’m going to enjoy my last week of August!  Relax, chill out, veg.  Read my magazines.  Read a book.  Lay out in the sun.  Float in my pool.  Drink cocktails with lunch.  Cook a yummy and fresh dinner each night (this is actually a big de-stressor for me!).

We need that “unplug” to be able to not only have the energy, but also the mental clarity to have a strong and successful September.

So my pledge to myself (and my challenge to you) is to enjoy the end of summer.  Regardless of what you have planned for the next week, find some time, any time, even if it’s only for ten minutes, but find the time to unwind a bit, unplug and revel in the pure joy that is summer.

Posted on August 22, 2014, in Goals, My Favorite Things, New Years Resolutions, Stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts?

The Fashionista's Garden

Gardening Tips, Tricks & Stories

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

Jojo's Way of Life

Life, Trials, Tribulations and Pulling Through It

FLESH Beauty

face ~ lips ~ eyes ~ skin ~ hair

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

WeekendSprout's Mini Garden

Locally Grown, Right from My Backyard in the City

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

M i z l u l u

Certified Aesthetician - Fashion & Portrait Photographer - Digital Artist - Influencer

