A Leisure Lunch

image

There’s something to be said for the simplicity of having lunch at a sidewalk cafe. Watching the people walk by as you savor each morsel of food, each sip of champagne as the tables around you constantly rotate with new guests as they rush through their meals.  One wonders if they truly taste the flavors let alone experience the pleasure of them.  The pleasure of the brie cheese sauce as I watch it ooze out of my crepe when I cut into it.  Or pleasure the bubbles in the champagne as they travel into my nasal cavity as I sip my mimosa on this hot summer day.

I wonder if they even hear the hiss of the misters as they turn on to cool the diners and tourists.  And then the carefree euphoria of the champagne begins to take effect.  I take another bite of my crepe and can taste the crisp sweetness of the apple.

There’s no cell phone distracting me.  It’s safely tucked away, on silent, in my purse.  I’m actually writing this old-school, on paper in a beautiful journal.

I love that there’s no one sitting with me, chatting wildly about nothing in particular simply to fill the silence at the table.  It’s peaceful.  I’m alone, but not lonely.  I have the company of myself.  A date I’ve not had in a really long time.

I’m eating slowly, savoring every morsel.  I find that I can not even finish my amazing meal.  I am not overly stuffed, not even full, simply satisfied.  I am content, yet know that when I leave this lovely little sanctuary, I will be able to continue walking on, happy, content, at ease, full of pleasure knowing all is good.

I relish these moments.  The clarity.  I feel that’s truly when my writing is the best.  It’s hard to slow down sometimes.  To not look at your phone, to not look at your watch.  But I highly recommend it.  In fact, I challenge you to try it.  Sure you might feel really (and I mean REALLY) awkward at first.  But push through.  You won’t regret it.   And with that the Bellagio fountains have started.  I can’t imagine a more perfect way to end an amazing lunch.

Posted on July 29, 2014, in My Favorite Things, Stress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts?

The Fashionista's Garden

Gardening Tips, Tricks & Stories

SARAH THE GARDENER

Real Gardening in my Real Garden

Jojo's Way of Life

Life, Trials, Tribulations and Pulling Through It

FLESH Beauty

face ~ lips ~ eyes ~ skin ~ hair

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

WeekendSprout's Mini Garden

Locally Grown, Right from My Backyard in the City

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

M i z l u l u

Certified Aesthetician - Fashion & Portrait Photographer - Digital Artist - Influencer

